top of page
Welcome to Baby Hostetter-Napeñas' registry!
Due: August 1, 2018
Shower: May 29, 2018 
Location: Massachusetts

Team Mariah

 

We're coming together to help build baby's first library!  Book recommendations are below, but feel free to go off-list if you want. 

Recommendations

 

Bookshelf Builder's recommendations are based on trends, newborn developmental needs, and the parents' own interests. 

Avoid Duplicates

 

Please fill out this form with the books that you bringing to mark them as "claimed".

At the Shower

 

Bring your books to the shower.  Please write something in the book so it can be treasured for years to come. 

American as Paneer Pie

American as Paneer Pie
Summary

“[A] charming novel [that] explores the complexity of immigration and identity.” —Teen Vogue

An Indian American girl navigates prejudice in her small town and learns the power of her own voice in this brilliant gem of a middle grade novel full of humor and heart, perfect for fans of Front Desk and Amina’s Voice.

As the only Indian American kid in her small town, Lekha Divekar feels like she has two versions of herself: Home Lekha, who loves watching Bollywood movies and eating Indian food, and School Lekha, who pins her hair over her bindi birthmark and avoids confrontation at all costs, especially when someone teases her for being Indian.

When a girl Lekha’s age moves in across the street, Lekha is excited to hear that her name is Avantika and she’s Desi, too! Finally, there will be someone else around who gets it. But as soon as Avantika speaks, Lekha realizes she has an accent. She’s new to this country, and not at all like Lekha.

To Lekha’s surprise, Avantika does not feel the same way as Lekha about having two separate lives or about the bullying at school. Avantika doesn’t take the bullying quietly. And she proudly displays her culture no matter where she is: at home or at school.

When a racist incident rocks Lekha’s community, Lekha realizes she must make a choice: continue to remain silent or find her voice before it’s too late.

bottom of page